Super Bowl winners

Drafts, free agency, trades, regular season meetings; they all lead to the Super Bowl. Unlike soccer, there are no cup competitions or distractions. The NFL season is all about winning the Super Bowl.

Lifting the Vince Lombardi trophy is the pinnacle. It secures a team’s place in history on the Super Bowl winners’ list. Legends are made with big Super Bowl performances.

Franchises and fans wait decades to win just one Super Bowl. Some are fortunate enough to experience the Big Game on more than one occasion, and a special group will enjoy being part of an NFL dynasty.

Including a Super Bowl winners’ list, here’s a quick look at some Super Bowl history and records.

Most Super Bowl wins

The New England Patriots and Pittsburgh Steelers are the two most successful teams in Super Bowl history with six wins apiece.


New England’s all came during the Tom Brady era, starting in 2002 and wrapping up in 2018. Bill Belichick and Brady started off the dynasty at the beginning of the 21st century, when the Pats had appeared in just two Super Bowls, losing both.

The Steelers have enjoyed success since the turn of the century, too. Their triumphs in 2006 and 2009 were the fifth and sixth in franchise history. It had been a long wait for Pittsburgh, however, who won their first four Super Bowls in the 1970s. They have only appeared in the Big Game once since 2009, losing to the Green Bay Packers in 2011.

Green Bay and the New York Giants have won four Super Bowls apiece, putting them joint-fifth on the all-time list, just behind the Dallas Cowboys and San Francisco 49ers (five).

Most common Super Bowl matchup

The Pittsburgh Steelers vs Dallas Cowboys is the most common matchup in Super Bowl history. The two teams faced off three times, with Pittsburgh winning twice in the 1970s and Dallas lifting the trophy in 1996.

Six other Super Bowl matchups have occurred more than once.


The Miami Dolphins and Washington Redskins played in the early 1970s and had a rematch a decade later. San Francisco and the Cincinnati Bengals played twice in the 1980s, and the Cowboys beat the Buffalo Bills in consecutive years in the early 1990s.

Perhaps most famous in recent NFL history, the Giants got the better of the Patriots twice in four years. New England has also faced the Eagles and Rams twice apiece.

Least successful NFL teams

12 active NFL franchises have never won the Super Bowl. Of those 12, the Bills and Minnesota Vikings have lost four times each.

The Bengals, Carolina Panthers and Atlanta Falcons have each twice been on the losing side in the Super Bowl. The Titans, Cardinals and Chargers have fallen short once each.

While both won the NFL Championship before the Super Bowl era, the Cleveland Browns and Detroit Lions have never appeared in the Super Bowl.

Super Bowl winners

1967 – Green Bay Packers

1968 – Green Bay Packers

1969 – New York Jets

1970 – Kansas City Chiefs

1971 – Baltimore Colts

1972 – Dallas Cowboys

1973 – Miami Dolphins

1974 – Miami Dolphins

1975 – Pittsburgh Steelers

1976 – Pittsburgh Steelers

1977 – Oakland Raiders

1978 – Dallas Cowboys

1979 – Pittsburgh Steelers

1980 – Pittsburgh Steelers

1981 – Oakland Raiders

1982 – San Francisco 49ers

1983 – Washington Redskins

1984 – Los Angeles Raiders

1985 – San Francisco 49ers

1986 – Chicago Bears

1987 – New York Giants

1988 – Washington Redskins

1989 – San Francisco 49ers

1990 – San Francisco 49ers

1991 – New York Giants

1992 – Washington Redskins

1993 – Dallas Cowboys

1994 – Dallas Cowboys

1995 – San Francisco 49ers

1996 – Dallas Cowboys

1997 – Green Bay Packers

1998 – Denver Broncos

1999 – Denver Broncos

2000 – St Louis Rams

2001 – Baltimore Ravens

2002 – New England Patriots

2003 – Tampa Bay Buccaneers

2004 – New England Patriots

2005 – New England Patriots

2006 – Pittsburgh Steelers

2007 – Indianapolis Colts

2008 – New York Giants

2009 – Pittsburgh Steelers

2010 – New Orleans Saints

2011 – Green Bay Packers

2012 – New York Giants

2013 – Baltimore Ravens

2014 – Seattle Seahawks

2015 – New England Patriots

2016 – Denver Broncos

2017 – New England Patriots

2018 – Philadelphia Eagles

2019 – New England Patriots

2020 – Kansas City Chiefs

2021 – Tampa Bay Buccaneers

2022 — Los Angeles Rams

2023 — Kansas City Chiefs

2024 — Kansas City Chiefs