Franchise Sports

Four highest-paid NFL players in 2019

Home » NFL » Four highest-paid NFL players in 2019

American football is becoming more popular by the day in various regions all over the world, with a staggering 17.18 million fans worldwide. Various organisations have invested great sums of money into it, including gambling associations. This has brought in a lot of returns for professional players, such as Aaron Rodgers, who is the highest-paid player in the history of American football having brought in an incredible $76 million during his career.

This year the four highest-paid American footballers are Michael Thomas, Russell Wilson, Ben Roethlisberger and Rodgers himself.

Michael Thomas Jr.

The New Orleans Saints wide receiver recently entered a five-year contract worth $100 million including guarantees of $61 million, making him not only the highest-paid player in the league but also the very first non-quarterback offensive player to sign a $100 million deal.

He currently holds the NFL record for the player with most receptions through three seasons. Thomas attended high school at William Howard Taft in Woodland Hills, California then later played for the Ohio State University while in college. As of 2018, Thomas had been named to two Pro Bowls, the First-Team All-Pro and had a total of 23 touchdowns.

Russell Wilson

A Seattle Seahawks quarterback, Wilson is the second-highest-paid player, earning $35 million last year.


He has been named to Pro Bowl six times and has been in two Super Bowls one of which – the Super Bowl XLVIII – he won. Wilson attended high school in Collegiate School in Richmond, Virginia and went to Wisconsin NC State for his college studies.

He is one of the only two quarterback players in the history of NFL with a passer rating of more than 100. He was the highest-paid player of the NFL in 2014 when he signed a $140 million four-year contract.

Ben Roethlisberger

The Pittsburgh Steelers QB is third with $34 million.

He attended high school in Findlay, Ohio and played for Miami University while in college. In 2004, he was drafted to the Steelers and he also won the award of the AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year. At only 23 and in his second professional season, he led his team against the Seattle Seahawks during Super Bowl XL. His team won at 21-10, making him the youngest quarterback to win Super Bowl in the history of NFL. Currently, he is the ninth-best NFL passer with a rating of 94.0.

Aaron Rodgers

Rodgers from the Green Bay Packers is fourth with $33.5 million.


Rodgers is also a quarterback and has been in the Packers team since 2005. In 2010, he earned the Super Bowl MVP after leading his team to victory in Super Bowl XLV against the Pittsburgh Steelers. A year on, he earned the title Associated Press Athlete of the year and was voted MVP. He is the only other player, apart from Wilson, to have a passer rating of more than 100.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *